Auburn Symphony visits Mondavi with prize-winning pianist

By From page A7 | April 03, 2013

Chu-Fang Huang will play the Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1. Courtesy photo

Chu-Fang Huang will play the Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1. Courtesy photo

A celebrated guest artist will appear with the Auburn Symphony for the Placer County orchestra’s annual visit to the Mondavi Center at 3 p.m. Sunday, April 14. Pianist Chu-Fang Huang, the 2011 winner of the coveted Avery Fisher Career Grant, among other accolades, will perform Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor at the concert.

Huang replaces scheduled guest artist Michelle Kim, who had to withdraw from the concert to attend to family matters.

“Chu-Fang Huang is a consummate musician with a powerhouse technique and an energized stage presence that is simply electric!” said Auburn Symphony Music Director Peter Jaffe. “Her credentials are amazing. I’ve had the great fortune to work with Chu-Fang in several occasions, and she has always elicited tremendous ovations from audiences. We’re in for a super treat.”

Huang burst onto the music scene during the 2005 Van Cliburn Piano Competition, and as first-prize winner of the Cleveland Piano Competition that same year. In 2006, she won a place on the Young Concert Artists roster. Her recital at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall and Kennedy Center debut in the Young Concert Artists Series garnered rave reviews.

Huang has performed in Canada with the Victoria Symphony, in Australia with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and the Australian Chamber Orchestra, in China with the Shenzhen and Liaoning Philharmonic Orchestras, at the famed Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Ruhr Piano Festival in Germany, the Mustafa Kemal Center in Istanbul and at the Louvre Museum in Paris.

The Auburn Symphony comes to the Mondavi each spring, accompanied by several busloads of friends and subscribers from Placer County, to enjoy performing in a top-notch concert hall. This year, the orchestra is to perform Ravel’s popular orchestration of Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” and Kabalevsky’s Overture to “Colas Breugnon,” in addition to the Mendelssohn concerto.

Jaffe made his debut with the Auburn Symphony at the 2012 Mondavi performance. He took over as the orchestra’s music director for the 2012-13 25th anniversary season.

Tickets are $40 general, $20 for students, available at www.auburnsymphony.com or 530-823-6683, or www.mondaviarts or 530-754-2787.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.