Chamber Music Society performs music by Brahms, others on Saturday

By From page A15 | March 09, 2012

The Chamber Music Society of Sacramento will present a concert featuring music by Brahms, Saint-Saëns, Chopin and Handel at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road in Davis.

Some changes have been made to the program that was announced at the beginning of the season. Pianist Dmitriy Cogan will still appear, but flutist Mathew Krejci’s appearance will now be in May.

As a result, two short works featuring Krejci’s flute that had originally been announced for the March program will be replaced by the Sonata for Violin and Keyboard (D Major, No. 4) by George Frederic Handel, featuring violinist Kineko Okumura and pianist Dmitriy Cogan. The Handel sonata is thought to have been composed in 1749-50 (when the composer was in his 60s, seven or eight years after his famous oratorio “Messiah”) and was originally on violin and harpsichord. It is commonly regarded as the final piece of chamber music that Handel completed.

Also new to the program will be a Polonaise for Cello and Piano by Frederic Chopin (Op. 3). It is a relatively early piece, one of the first pieces that the composer published. This performance will feature cellist Victoria Ehrlich and pianist Dmitriy Cogan.

Also on the program (as originally scheduled) will be Johannes Brahms’ Piano Quartet in G Minor (Op. 25). Composed between 1856 and 1861, the quartet was written with pianist Clara Schumann in mind, and she gave the first performance. The finale includes some Gypsy-inspired music. It is another of the Opus 25 pieces by various composers that the Chamber Music Society is featuring during the organization’s 25th anniversary season.

The program also includes the Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano by Camille Saint-Saëns. Composed in 1885, it features heroic passages that have made it one of the composers most popular chamber works.

The concert will be repeated at 7:30 p.m. Sunday in Capistrano Hall at Sacramento State University.

Tickets for the Chamber Music Society’s concert in Davis on Saturday are $28 general, $22 for seniors, $12 for students, available at the door. For more information go to http://cmssacto.org/

— Reach Jeff Hudson at [email protected] or (530) 747-8055.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.