Chamber Music Society presents Baroque program on Saturday

By From page A11 | December 13, 2011

Harpsichordist Jonathan Salzedo will join in this weekend's performances by the Chamber Music Society of Sacramento. Courtesy photo


What: Chamber Music Society of Sacramento concerts

When and where: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road, Davis; 7:30 p.m. Sunday, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, 1420 J St., Sacramento

Tickets: $28 general, $22 seniors, $12 students; www.cmssacto.org

The Chamber Music Society of Sacramento presents  a program focusing on Baroque music on Saturday evening in Davis and Sunday evening in Sacramento.

Harpsichordist Jonathan Salzedo will join in this weekend’s performances. Born in Britain, Salzedo studied at Oxford, and has lived in California for 30 years. He is the co-director of the Bay Area-based Albany Consort, and has worked with early music groups like The Whole Noyse.

On the program is J.S. Bach’s Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Harpshicord (BWV 1016), the Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 (BWV 1050) by J.S. Bach, a Trio Sonata for Flute, Violin and Harpshichord by C.P.E. Bach (one of J.S. Bach’s sons), the Violin Sonata No. 3 (“Ballade”), from Op. 27, by Eugène Yasÿe, the Cello Concerto in A Minor (RV 418) by Antonio Vivaldi, and Vivaldi’s Concerto in B Minor for Violin Scordatura and Strings (RWV 391).

Kineko Okumura, an El Macero resident who has played with numerous orchestras in California, will perform the Vivaldi Concerto for Violin Scordatura. Scordatura is technique used by a number of Baroque era composers, including J.S. Bach and H.I.F. Biber, in which some strings are tuned differently to create an unusual sound.

“The E becomes one step down, a D,” Okumura explained. “Then the G becomes B; I tune it up a major third.”

Playing a scordatura violin is “very weird at first, I had to get used to it,” Okumura continued. “What you look at (the score) and what comes out (of the retuned strings) are different. But it’s not all that hard, and it has a really lovely sound, it rings. It is a nice effect.”

The Yasÿe Sonata, to be played by Bill Barbini, artistic director of the Chamber Music Society, was written in 1923, making it several centuries newer than the rest of the music on the program. It is a musical homage of sorts to J.S. Bach’s solo violin partitas.

Mathew Krejci, who teaches flute at the University of the Pacific and performs with several orchestras in the region, will be featured in the C.P.E. Bach Trio Sonata.

The Davis performance will begin at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road, Davis. The concert will repeat at 7:30 p.m. Sunday at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, 1420 J St., Sacramento.

Tickets are $28 general, $22 seniors, $12 for students with ID. For information, go to www.cmssacto.org.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.