Air Force Ensemble gives free concert Thursday

By From page A9 | September 7, 2011

The Pacific Coast Winds, a chamber music ensemble made up of musicians from the U.S. Air Force Band of the Golden West, will perform a free concert at 7 p.m. Thursday at the Veterans’ Memorial Theater, 203 E. 14th St. in Davis.

Under the direction of Capt. Haley Armstrong, the group consists of a double woodwind quintet and brass quintet augmented by percussion. Pacific Coast Winds performs a broad repertoire of wind music ranging from Mozart, Stravinsky and Dukas to PDQ Bach.

Drawn from the larger 45-piece concert band, the Pacific Coast Winds musicians are described as skilled and versatile, and hold music degrees from some of the most prestigious institutions in the United States and abroad.

Free tickets are available on a first-come, first-served basis at the Community Services Department at City Hall, 23 Russell Blvd. For more information, call (530) 757-5626 or visit www.cityofdavis.org.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.