Pianist Yoshikazu Nagai, violinist William Barbini wrap up Chamber Music Society season

By From page A11 | May 08, 2013

Pianist Yoshikazu Nagai/Courtesy photo

Pianist Yoshikazu Nagai/Courtesy photo

Check it out

What: Sacramento Chamber Music Society

When: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 18

Where: Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road

Tickets: $28 general, $22 seniors, $12 students, available at the door

Info: www.cmssacto.org; 916-443-2908

Violinist William Barbini and pianist Yoshikazu Nagai will present a recital featuring works by Beethoven, Bazzini, Liszt, Scarlatti and Prokofiev on Saturday, May 18, in Davis, and on Sunday, May 19, in Sacramento. This wraps up this year’s concert series by the Chamber Music Society of Sacramento.

Barbini, a longtime resident of El Macero, has served for some years as the artistic director of the Chamber Music Society, performing frequently with the group over the years. Barbini also teaches at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Nagai is likewise on the faculty at the San Francisco Conservatory; he also has performed with the Chamber Music Society in Davis in the past.

Together, Barbini and Nagai will be touching down on music from three centuries by composers who lived in different parts of Europe:

* The Sonata No. 5 for violin and piano (“Spring”) by Ludwig van Beethoven, published in 1801 and thematically suited for a May evening.

* The Sonata No. 2 in D Major by Sergei Prokofiev, originally written as a flute sonata in 1942, then revised for violin the following year, when Prokofiev was living in a remote part of the Ural Mountains to escape the war devastation that had engulfed most major Russian cities.

* “The Dance of the Goblins” (also known as “The Round of the Goblins”) by Italian composer Antonio Bazzini, a virtuosic showpiece from 1852, a time when the composer was living in Paris.

On his own, Nagai will perform the showy “Mephisto” Waltz for solo piano (written about 1859-62) by the flashy composer/pianist Franz Liszt, as well as two short keyboard sonatas by Domenico Scarlatti, (an Italian composer who lived from 1685 to 1757, overlapping with Bach and Handel. Barbini also likely will perform some short selections for solo violin.

The Davis performance will be at 7:30 p.m. May 18 at Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road. The concert will be repeated at 7:30 p.m. May 19 in Capistrano Hall on the Sacramento State campus. Tickets are $28 general, $22 for seniors and $12 students with ID, available at the door. For more information, visit www.cmssacto.org, call 916-443-2908 or email [email protected].

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.