S.F. Symphony harpist to appear with Chamber Music Society

By From page A7 | April 18, 2013

Douglas Rioth harp 2W

Check it out

What: Sacramento Chamber Music Society

When: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, April 20

Where: Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road

Tickets: $28 general, $22 seniors, $12 students, available at the door

Info: www.cmssacto.org; 916-443-2908

Harpist Douglas Rioth — a member of the San Francisco Symphony for decades — will perform with the Sacramento Chamber Music Society on Saturday, April 20, in Davis, and the next evening in Sacramento.

Rioth joined the San Francisco Symphony in 1981, and has appeared with the orchestra as a soloist on multiple occasions. A native of Missouri, he studied at the Interlochen Arts Academy in Michigan and at the Cleveland Institute in Ohio. He also has appeared with the Cleveland Orchestra and the Detroit Symphony, and in recent years he has taught at the San Francisco Conservatory.

The program will include the French Impressionist classic “Syrinx” for solo flute by Claude Debussy, composed in 1913, to be played by Mathew Krejci, a longtime member of the Sacramento Chamber Music Society and a faculty member at the University of the Pacific. Paired with the Debussy will be a 1985 trio for flute, viola and harp by British composer Richard Rodney Bennett (1936-2012), titled “Sonata After Syrinx.”

Also on the program will be the classic three-movement Trio for Flute, Viola and Harp by Debussy, composed in 1915 (not long after “Syrinx”). It is one of the most popular works ever written for these three instruments, and several other composers subsequently wrote their own music for this combination.

“I have played the Debussy Trio Sonata many times, but it is one of the best chamber music pieces for harp, and it is a joy to practice on.  I never get tired of it!” Rioth told The Enterprise. “The Bennett is something that I had never heard of before, and it is extremely difficult to learn, as it is not the normal harmonies that we expect to hear. So it is quite a challenge.”

Rounding out the program will be the Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25, by Johannes Brahms. Composed in the late 1950s, the piece was associated for many years with Clara Schumann, who performed it on multiple occasions. Pianist Dmitri Cogan, who appears regularly with the Sacramento Chamber Music Society, will be at the keyboard for this performance.

The Davis performance will be at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, April 20, at Congregation Bet Haverim, 1715 Anderson Road. The concert will be repeated at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, April 21, in Capistrano Hall on the Sacramento State campus. Tickets are $28 general, $22 for seniors and $12 students with ID, available at the door. For more information, visit www.cmssacto.org, call 916-443-2908 or email [email protected].

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.