City government

Five to vie for three council seats

By From page A1 | March 11, 2012

The field is set for the 2012 Davis City Council election.

Five candidates will compete for three seats on the dais in the June 5 election, including newcomers Lucas Frerichs and Brett Lee and incumbent Sue Greenwald, all of whom filed candidate statements and nominator lists on Friday, the last day to do so.

The three join incumbents Dan Wolk and Stephen Souza who both filed last month at the beginning of the filing period.

Greenwald filed just before the 5 p.m. deadline Friday.

“I have a longstanding passion for excellent city planning,” Greenwald wrote in her candidate statement. “As your councilmember, I have worked hard to achieve neighborhood preservation, slow growth, environmental sensitive city planning, genuine fiscal responsibility, and a walkable, bikeable, vibrant downtown.”

Greenwald, 64, has served on the council for 12 years and was the mayor from 2006 to 2008. Follow her campaign at http://www.suegreenwald.com/ForDavis.

Her list of nominators includes John Roth, Linda Bisson, Howard Spero, Victoria A. Smith, Alan Hastings, Stephen Kowalczykowski, Edward J. Imwinkelried, Paul Luciw, Maria Mudrjy, Demosthenes Pappagianis, Kim Stanley Robinson, Richard Luna, Dennis Lindsay, John Natsoulas, Douglas A. Walter, Nancy Temple, Donna Farvard, Johannes Troost, William D. Kopper, Carl W. Schmid, Paul C. Riggle, Pamela Gunnell, Jerry Kaneko, Linda Kowalczykowski, Jennifer Hagedorn, Andy Jones, Dennis Dingemans, Elaine Fingerette, David Suder and  Mark Siegler.

The two challengers in this year’s council election campaign also filed Friday.

Lee, 46, an industrial engineer, was the first to announce his candidacy back in October.

“I am running for city council because our town faces real challenges that must be dealt with squarely,” Lee said in his candidacy statement. “We must get our city budget in order — we must reduce our long-term costs while maintaining our essential services. We must require that any growth be community driven, not developer driven. We need to promote long-term economic growth opportunities.”

Follow Lee’s campaign at http://brettfordavis.com.

His list of nominators includes Mas Yamaguchi, Ida Yamaguchi, Cassandra Fricke, Ann Evans, Ken Wagstaff, Diane Wagstaff, Delaine Eastin, Elizabeth Saft, Daniel Boone, Julia Hunter-Blair, Carolyn Hinshaw, Rodney Robinson, Kevin Whiteford, Rick Green, Lou Ziskind, Gayle Hughes, Elisabeth Bogren, Stephanie Faim Brown, Linda Bennett, Carolyn Kopper, Elizabeth Roberts Musser, Vashek Cervinka, Claudette Cervinka, Natalie Wormelli, Ben Wormelli, Brian Johnson, Lorrell Johnson, Ray Miller and Pam Nieberg.

The fifth and final candidate to announce his candidacy was Frerichs, 32, who also filed Friday.

“Now, more than ever, we must draw upon our deep community commitment to craft a new vision and direction for Davis,” Frerichs wrote in his statement. “We are on the cusp of a new era in city/ state financing, investment in infrastructure, need for sustainable budgeting, environmental planning, economic development and community caring. I bring commitment, common sense, and real experience to the City Council.”

Frerichs is chairman of the city’s Planning Commission and a policy consultant who works on issues dealing with natural resources. Follow his campaign at http://lucasforcitycouncil.org.

His list of nominators includes Stacie H. Frerichs, Delaine A. Eastin, Alan Fernandes, Anthony Costello, Ann M. Evans, Helen M. Thomson, Jacqueline “Jake” Clemens, Betsy A. Marchand, Janet Krovoza, Michael N. Corbett, Susan Lovenburg, Ed Clemens, Jim Gray, William Kopper, David E. Burmester, Jim Provenza, Cass Sylvia, Don Saylor, Claire Black-Slotton, Mariko M. Yamada, Bob Schneider, Dorothy Peterson, Ben Pearl, Julie A. Cross, Carri Cummings Ziegler, Jay Ziegler, Tim Taylor, Michael J. Levy, Cathy Speck and Pedro R. Reyes.

Souza, 56, who was the first to file, owns and operates Ultra Clean Pool Services in Davis and has served on the City Council for the past eight years. Follow his campaign at http://stephensouza.com.

His lists of nominators includes Lea Rosenberg, Herb Bauer, Betty Weir, Gregg Herrington, Arun Sen, Beth Annon, Rosalie Paine, Sara Smith, Kari Fry, Maynard Skinner, Bob Bockwinkel, Jeff Adamski, Ruth Asmundson, Don Saylor, Jennifer Raven, Rick Gonzales, Kelsey McQuaid, Susan Lovenburg, Betsy Marchand, Cass Sylvia, Helen Thomson, Rose Cholewinski, Bill Streng, Charlie Russell, Sheila Allen, Lydia Delis-Schlosser, Bob Schelen, Janet Sarenana, Mariko Yamada and Jim Provenza.

Wolk, 34, who works as a deputy county counsel for Solano County, was appointed to the City Council last February after Don Saylor vacated his seat following his election to the Yolo County Board of Supervisors. Follow his campaign at http://danwolk.org.

His list of nominators includes Jamima Wolk, Lois Wolk, Bruce Wolk, Helen Thomson, Ann M. Evans, Mariko Yamada, Delaine Eastin, Bill Kopper, Cass Sylvia, Jim Provenza, Don Saylor, Rosalie Paine, Nina Gatewood, Steve Boschken, Pam Nieberg, Raychel Adler, Will Arnold, Calvin Handy, Rose Cholewinski, Stephen Nowicki, Mary Lou Willett, Ben Pearl, Robb Davis, Andrew Fulks, Widgen Neagley, Nora Brazil, Jose Martinez, Shama Mesiwala, John Mott‐Smith and Gregg Herrington.

— Reach Tom Sakash at [email protected] or (530) 747-8057. Follow him on Twitter @TomSakash.

Tom Sakash

Tom Sakash covers the city beat for The Davis Enterprise. Reach him at [email protected], (530) 747-8057 or @TomSakash.
  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.