Local News

Coalition presents awards on Sunday

By From page A4 | June 14, 2013

The Davis Action Coalition is sponsoring the seventh annual Malcolm X Remembered program from 1 to 3 p.m. Sunday in the Blanchard Room of the Stephens Branch Library, 315 E. 14th St. in Davis.

The program will include a documentary and the bestowing of Malcolm X Tenet awards to Dino Clark and Leanne Friedman and, posthumously, Terry Turner. The coalition also will recognize Craig Armstrong and Mary Ellen Dolcini as outstanding educators.

Additional honorees are Joan Miller, Janie Woods, Jean Reid and Ruth Reynolds for their community involvement both politically and socially during the 1960s and ’70s.

The event is free and open to the public. For more information, call Bill Calhoun at 530-756-4828.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.