Davis Police Chief Landy Black swears in new officers Joshua Mares, Scott Holck, Matthew Rowan and Derek Carlson, along with dispatcher Rebecca Mares, on Wednesday at Davis City Hall. Wayne Tilcock/Enterprise photo

Local News

Davis police employees honored at annual ceremony

By From page A3 | August 03, 2014

The Davis Police Department welcomed new employees and honored others at its annual awards ceremony Wednesday at City Hall.

Officer Sean Bellamy was named the agency’s Officer of the Year, while Shawn Hayden received the Public Safety Dispatcher of the Year award. Officer Pete Faeth earned a meritorious achievement ribbon for his work as a bike-patrol officer.

The department’s Excellence and Innovation in Policing Ribbon went to members of the Special Assignment and Focused Enforcement (SAFE) Team, a task force formed earlier this year to address an uptick in burglary and other crimes. Police officials say the team’s work has resulted in a 50-percent decrease in crimes compared to this time last year.

SAFE Team members include Lt. Paul Doroshov; Sgt. Mike Munoz; Detectives Ryan Bellamy, Sean Bellamy and Justin Raymond; Police Intelligence Resource Analyst Deanne Machado; and Police Services Specialist Janet Chaney.

Sworn in to their new positions at Wednesday’s ceremony were Officers Derek Carlson, Scott Holck, Joshua Mares and Matthew Rowan; and Public Safety Dispatcher Rebecca Mares.

Other longtime employees received promotions: Trevor Edens and Ariel Pineda to the rank of sergeant, Eric Labbe and Daniel Beckwith to corporal and Jean Lyon to records and communications manager.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.