Local News

DTA announces early endorsements in November school board race

By From page A6 | June 27, 2014

The election is still months away, and the candidate filing period won’t formally begin until July 14.

But the Davis Teachers Association — recognizing that it isn’t easy to schedule interviews with school board candidates during the summer and that teachers will be very busy when school begins in August — this week announced the endorsement of four candidates who will be running for seats on the Davis school board in the Nov. 4 election.

The DTA endorsed Barbara Archer, Alan Fernandes, Mike Nolan and Madhavi Sunder. According to DTA president Blair Howard, “each of the candidates brings particular strengths, experiences and qualities that will serve the students and community of the Davis Joint Unified superbly. The candidates also understand and value the deep connection between the educators of the district and the students they serve.”

Fernandes is serving on the school board; he was appointed in May to fill a seat that opened up when trustee Nancy Peterson resigned in March. Fernandes will sere as an appointed trustee through November; he has indicated that he plans to be a school board candidate in November.

Archer and Sunder were applicants who sought appointment to the open school board seat in May. They also have indicated that they intend to run for the school board in the November election.

Nolan was not an applicant for the open school board seat, but he ran as a candidate in the 2010 school board election. Nolan has attended several recent school board meetings. He has not made a formal public declaration of his plans for the November race, but he indicated to The Enterprise that he expects to make an announcement in the relatively near future.

The filing period for school board candidates will begin on July 14 and continue through Aug. 8. Prospective candidates need to file papers with Yolo County Elections Office in Woodland to get their name on the ballot.

The Nov. 4 election for the Davis school board will be unusual in that four seats will be at stake. (There are five seats on the Davis school board.) Voters will select three candidates to fill four-year terms on the board (seats currently held by incumbents Sheila Allen, Gina Daleiden and Tim Taylor). Voters also will select a candidate to fill a two-year seat (filling out the remaining two years of the term originally held by Peterson). Candidates will need to indicate whether they are running for one of the four-year seats or the two-year seats.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.