Local News

Name Droppers: Mazet elected to Institute of Medicine

By From page A7 | November 15, 2013

Jonna Mazet, a professor of epidemiology and disease ecology and director of the Wildlife Health Center and One Health Institute at UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, one the nation’s highest honors in health and medicine.

To address global health challenges, Mazet employs a One Health approach, the philosophy for which the One Health Institute she directs is named. One Health recognizes that humans, animals and the environment are inextricably linked. As director of the $75 million program PREDICT, she has brought together an interdisciplinary team of experts to develop and support a global early warning system for emerging diseases that move between wildlife and people, such as HIV, ebola and SARS.

Her leadership has expanded the One Health workforce by more than 2,500 people and discovered 250 viruses known to cause epidemics.

As director of the Wildlife Health Center, she has overseen accomplishments that include diagnosis of novel infections, tracked pathogen pollution from its victims to the source, and contributed to the conservation of endangered species, from mountain gorillas in Rwanda to sea otters in California.

Mazet also founded California’s Oiled Wildlife Care Network at UC Davis, the world’s premier model for wildlife emergency health response, as well as the Health for Animals and Livelihood Improvement (HALI) project, which aims to reduce infectious disease transmission in the Ruaha ecosystem of Tanzania.


Christopher Cabaldon, 47, of West Sacramento, has been reappointed by Gov. Jerry Brown to the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, where he has served since 2011.

Cabaldon has been a principal at Capitol Impact LLC since 2009 and mayor of West Sacramento since 1998. He was the president and chief executive officer of EdVoice from 2003 to 2008 and served as a vice chancellor for the California Community Colleges from 1998 to 2003.

Cabaldon was chief of staff for the California State Assembly Committee on Higher Education from 1989 to 1997 and is vice chair for education at the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

This position requires Senate confirmation and there is no compensation. Cabaldon is a Democrat.

The Yolo County Sheriff’s Department has announced the promotion of Dale Johnson to the rank of captain.

“Dale is extremely dedicated and talented. He will bring a whole new level of commitment and performance to the sheriff’s office,” Sheriff Ed Prieto said in a news release. “I look forward to his participation on our management team and the input and ideas I know he will bring to our organization.”

Johnson began his career with the Yolo County Sheriff’s Department in 1992 as a full-time deputy, earning promotions to sergeant in 2000 and lieutenant in 2011. He has worked a wide range of assignments during his 21-year career, including detention, field operations, marine patrol, detectives, Yolo County SWAT Team, honor guard, Yolo Narcotic Enforcement Team and the Yolo County Gang Task Force.

Johnson also has received numerous awards and commendations, including Officer of the Year in 1995, Certificate of Commendation for dedicated service in 1996, and Sworn Manager of the Year in 2007 and 2010.


Glen Holstein of Davis was named 2013 Environmentalist of the Year by the Environmental Council of Sacramento at Sierra Health Center.

Holstein is on boards of the California Native Plant Society Sacramento Valley Chapter, Habitat 2020, Tuleyome and the Yolo Natural Heritage Program.

He developed the California Heartland Project, a vision for Central California nature protection, and has worked on numerous conservation efforts, including the proposed Berryessa-Snow Mountain National Conservation Area. A special interest of Holstein’s is protecting California’s prairies.


David J. Thompson of Davis received the National Association of Housing Cooperatives’ highest accolade, the Voorhis Award, to honor his lifetime work in the cooperative world. It was presented at the association’s 53rd annual conference in Seattle.

The award was established in 1984 in memory of Jerry Voorhis, widely regarded as the principal founding father of the National Association of Housing Cooperatives. It is designed to be an annual lifetime achievement award.

Thompson is president of the Twin Pines Cooperative Foundation and a co-principal of Neighborhood Partners, LLC. He has worked for the national cooperative organizations of the United States, Britain and Japan as well as the United Nations and has advised cooperatives in more than 30 nations on five continents.

Thompson co-led California’s efforts to create the National Cooperative Bank and from 1979 to 1985 was director of planning for the bank. Later Thompson, became the regional director of the bank’s western office, where he funded development of 1,700 units of cooperative housing and helped pass California’s law for limited equity housing cooperatives (the nation’s first).


Assemblywoman Mariko Yamada, D-Davis, has received several accolades for her contributions to the social work profession and for her policy work on issues related to California’s aging population.

She was inducted into the Social Work Hall of Distinction by her peers in recognition of her contributions to the profession over nearly four decades.

Earlier this month, she received the Henry Mello Legislator of the Year Award from the California Senior Legislature during its 33rd annual session in the Capitol.


Jacque Bartholomew of Davis has been elected to the board of Pacific Retirement Services. A retired vice president and manager of Wells Fargo Bank, she concurrently serves on the board of University Retirement Community at Davis, an affiliate of Pacific Retirement Services, and on several advisory boards at UC Davis.

She was the first female president of the Cal Aggie Alumni Association and the Davis Rotary Club, and the first female chair of the Davis Chancellor’s Club.

John K. Liu, 47, a UC Davis law school graduate from Hillsborough, has been appointed to the California Court Reporters Board. Liu has been counsel of the corporate department at Lowenstein Sandler LLP since 2012. He was of counsel of the corporate department at Fenwick and West LLP from 2008 to 2012 and a partner at Charter Law Group LLP from 2002 to 2008.

Liu was an associate of the corporate department at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich and Rosati P.C. from 1999 to 2002 and president of Technology Intelligence Integrated Inc. from 1992 to 1997.

He earned his law degree from the King Hall School of Law at UCD and a master’s degree in engineering economic systems from Stanford University.

This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $100 per diem. Liu is a Democrat.

UC Davis Cooperative Extension specialist James Wolpert won the American Society for Enology and Viticulture’s Merit Award, the society’s highest honor, in recognition of significant contributions to the field.

Wolpert joined the UCD faculty in 1983 and served as department chair for a decade during the planning and development of the Robert Mondavi Institute for Wine and Food Science.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.