Local News

Oct. 25 is deadline for Covell, Brinley nominations

By From page A5 | September 25, 2012


What: Nominations for Davis’ top citizen honors

When: Due by 10 a.m. Thursday, Oct. 25

How: Submit to Judy Wydick at [email protected] or 2620 Corona Drive, Davis, CA 95616

Info: Call Wydick at 530-756-1171

Nominations are still being sought for Davis’ top citizen honors — the C.A. Covell Award (Citizen of the Year) and the A.G. Brinley Award (for outstanding service).

The Covell Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to the community in a number of areas. Criteria include leadership in civic activities, unselfish service to the community, reliability in following through on commitments and involvement in a variety of activities.

The Brinley Award recognizes outstanding service in a particular area, such as in the arts, education or health, or in a major project that benefits the city.

Nominating letters should be no longer than two pages. All should include:

* The name of the nominee, and a brief explanation of why the nominee should receive the award for which he or she is being nominated (i.e., describing the nominee’s leadership ability and dedication to the community);

* A list of activities and services provided by the nominee, including dates and the name and email or phone number of an individual at the organization(s) served;

* A list of offices held, including dates; and

* The name, phone and email address of the person making the nomination.

After listing the activities, the nominator might include carefully selected quotes (not letters) from individuals who know the nominee in various capacities, if space permits.

Only one complete set of nomination papers will be used for each nominee in the selection process. They may be submitted to Judy Wydick, chairwoman of the Community Awards Steering Committee, preferably as attachments to [email protected] Alternatively, mail them to Wydick at 2620 Corona Drive, Davis, CA 95616.

All nominations must be received by 10 a.m. Thursday, Oct. 25. The awards will be announced in early December.

For more information, contact Wydick at 530-756-1171 or [email protected]
Recipients of the C.A. Covell Trophy since 1970 have included these people who are still in Davis: Will Lotter, Herb Bauer, Lois Grau, Peggy Epstein, Joyce Wisner, Barbara Kado, Tom Frankel, Judy Wydick, Vic Lim, Camille Lim, Bill and Nancy Roe, Ruth Asmundson, Lea Rosenberg, Nancy Keltner, Foy McNaughton, Doug Arnold, Cass Sylvia, Dean and Janice Labadie, Jay Gerber, Judy Moores, Ted Puntillo, Donna Lott, Paul Hart, Renée Liston, Debbie Davis, Ray and Verena Borton, Betty Berteaux, Mary Philip, Jim Becket, and Adam and Jan Bridge.

Recipients of the Brinley Award since 1977 have included these people still in Davis: Pat Allen, Don Kessler, Joan Callaway, Sharon Rose, Bob Dunning, Anne Hance and Evelyn Buddenhagen, David Burmester, Fred Lange, Barbara Jackson, Paul Hart, Mary Ellen Dolcini, Ruth Shumway, Ernst Biberstein, Pat Hutchinson, Jane Pomeroy, Charles Russell, Judy Gabor, Vicki Plutchok, Kate Mawdsley, Martha Dickman, Nancy Crosby and Pat Miller, Janet Berry, Helen Cole, Dorothy Peterson and Joe DeUlloa.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.