Pedro Urbina gets ballots ready to mail Monday morning at the Yolo County Elections Office in Woodland. A total of 44,553 ballots were sent to permanent absentee voters for the Nov. 6 election. Oct. 30 is the last day to request a vote-by-mail ballot. Sue Cockrell/Enterprise photo


Peterson, Fernandes lead fundraising race

By From page A1 | October 09, 2012

Four candidates for the Davis school board and supporters of Measure E, the local school parcel tax proposal, filed campaign finance reports last week with the Yolo County Elections Office.

Candidate Nancy Peterson raised the largest amount — $13,215 in cash plus $4,493 worth of  nonmonetary contributions, for a total of $17,708.

Candidate Alan Fernandes raised $10,529 in cash plus $333 worth of nonmonetary contributions, for a total of $10,862.

Incumbent and candidate Susan Lovenburg raised $8,339 in cash plus $529 worth of nonmonetary contributions, for a total of $8,868.

And the Yes for Our Students committee, which supports Measure E, raised $16,108 in cash plus $215 worth of nonmonetary contributions, for a total of $16,324.

The funds reported were donated between July 1 and Sept. 30. Fundraising is still under way, and another campaign finance report will be due in late October.

Major donors to Peterson’s campaign include: Andrew and Lisa Bea of Waukee, Iowa, $1,500; John and Judith Nicholson of Waukee, Iowa, $1,000; Mark Blake, Vic Bucher, Heidy Kellison, $500; Lynne Yackzan, Pamela Nieberg, $400; Miriam Fisk, Michael O’Brien, Marty and Shelley Morse, Rhonda Brooks, Renate Fry, Mary and Dave Bodendorfer, Lori Krouse, $250; Mary Brown, John and Chris Denton, Gayle Murray, Judy Fleenor, Frank Furtek and Sharon Stevenson, Janet Boulware, Clyde and Mary Rust, $200; Matt and Tricia Bosco, $150; and Deborah Shoup, $125.

The Peterson campaign also reported the equivalent of $4,493 in nonmonetary contributions, including Wyman Design, website, $1,600; Bud Harmon, photos, $1,091; Monticello Seasonal Cuisine, food, $500; Andrew Skaggs, wine, $376; Henry Wines, wine, $360; Our House/The Graduate, food, $250; Putah Creek Winery, wine, $216; Caffé Italia, food, $185; and Sheryl Patterson, bar supplies, $100.

Major donors to Fernandes’ campaign include: Stacy Adams, $550; Davis Firefighters Local 3494, and Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 447, $500; Greg Campbell, $450; James DeBoo of Sacramento and John Ferrera, $300; Marla Cowan, Jonathan Clay, Harry Ermoian, Cathy Chistian Farnsworth of Sacramento, Robert Giroux of Sacramento, Jim Gross of Sacramento, Professional Engineers in California Government, Kathy Ware, $250; Donna Cesario of Walnut Creek, Lucas Frerichs Davis City Council 2012 campaign, Jodi Hicks of Sacramento, Carol Lopez, Rubin Lopez, Pedro Reyes, $200; Aggie Garden Apartments, Christine Bouma of Sacramento, Kimberly Craig of Sacramento, Dennis Fernandes, $150.

The Fernandes campaign also reported a nonmonetary contribution worth $333 from Kristina McGahan for beverages for an event.

Lovenburg’s campaign reported the following major donations: Janice and Adam Bridge, Lindsay Anne Weston, Jean Kridl, $500; Amy Abramson, Delaine Eastin, Lucas Frerichs, Diana Glick, Susan Hulsizer, Susan Osfeld, $200. Lovenburg also donated $405 to the campaign.

She also reported nonmonetary contributions of $125 from Reid-McMahon LLC for web hosting; $107 from Ed and Jacqueline Clemens, for event rentals; and $237 from the Clemenses for food.

Jose Granda’s campaign reported contributions of $50 from Janet Zwalhen and $25 from Kumar Sah. The candidate also donated $642 to the campaign.

Candidate Claire Sherman did not file a report since she raised under $1,000, which is the threshold at which a report is required.

The Yes for Our Students campaign, which supports Measure E, received contributions of $5,425 from Tandem Properties; $3,000 from Greg McNece, CPA; $2,000 from Oakshade Avalon Inc.; $1,000 from Aspen Village Apartments, Glacier Point Apartments and Saratoga West Apartments; $250 from Jim and Mary Nicholson; $200 from Chuck Roe; Tim and Kelli Taylor; and $150 from Heidy Kellison.

The No School Board Taxes political action committee, which opposes Measure E, reported no financial activity for the June 29-Sept. 30 reporting period. The committee did raise funds after Sept. 30, and those donations will be reported in late October.

— Reach Jeff Hudson at [email protected] or 530-747-8055.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.