Local News

Sunder way out in front in school board campaign fundraising

By From page A1 | August 03, 2014

The candidacy filing period in the Davis school board race is still open, but some of the candidates who have declared have already been busy raising money for their campaigns.

Four trustees will be elected on Nov. 4 — three to four-year terms and one to a two-year term that finishes out the tenure of Nancy Peterson, who resigned her seat in March.

Donors listed below are from Davis or El Macero, unless otherwise noted.

Candidate Madhavi Sunder has raised the most thus far, with $17,087 in cash contributions and another $931 in nonmonetary contributions.

Donors to the Sunder campaign include $1,000 from North Raleigh Gastroenterology of North Raleigh, N.C.; $500 each from the candidate, M.T. Sunder of Florida, Harish Chander of Raleigh, N.C.; Sanjay Sunder of Florida; Cori Meltzer of Florida; Mark Lemley of Los Altos; Jyothika Panchagnula of Amherst, Ohio; and Songsang Sinantha of Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Those who gave $300 each are Poornima Balasubramanyam and Harrison Dunning; $250 contributions came from Spencer Overton of Chevy Chase, Md.; Georgia Bush of New York City; Jacob Willig of Grinnell, Iowa; Debbie Nichols Poulos; Lisa Pruitt of Fair Oaks; and A. Hari Reddi.

A $201 contribution came from Nila Patel and $200 contributions were made by Alicia Silva; Bruce and Lois Wolk; Malia McCarthy; Aruna Dasika of Livingston, N.J.; John Hunt; Floyd Feeney; Mario Biagioli of Berkeley; Carlton Larson; Vikram Amar; Sareena Malhi; and Smita Vaidya.

Giving $150 each were Ed Imwinkelried, Irene Joo, Grace Salvagno, Gabriel “Jack” Chin and Charlene Simmons; $125 from Guneet Bajwa; and $101 each from Anand Mamidi, Anita Dhesi, Best Western Inn of Dixon, Biswanath Mukherjee and S.K. Narayan Gowda.

Contributions of $100 came from Cruz Reynoso; Timothy Allen Wilkins of New York City; John B. Thomson; Shama Mesiwala; Allison Chilcott; Jim Provenza; Prasad Yadavalli of Galloway, N.J.; Lisa Ikemoto; Lisa Stulberg of Montclair, N.J.; Delaine Eastin; Estela Heringer; Kara Ueda; Mona Siegel; William Daugherty; Jacqueline Legg; Rao Tilak of Plano, Texas; John Ayer of Chico; Leticia Saucedo of Sacramento; Ashutosh Bhagwat of Moraga; Darien Shanske of Berkeley; Evelyn Lewis; Friends of Freddie Oakley; Miguel Mendez of San Carlos; Susan Mann; Linda Bagley of Encino; Chian He; Elizabeth Joh; Amarvir Singh; Aparna Krishnan; Arun Sen; Chander Arora; Gayatri Mahajan; Kalyana Munagala; Mariko Yamada; Rajinder Trewn; Sushma Mahajan; 3rd Street Jewelers; Ugrappa Nagalakshmi; Vidhya Ramakrishnan; Jacqueline Fagerlin of San Francisco; Robert Traverso; Baki Tezcan; Stephen Newman of Los Angeles; Sylvia Enriquez and Sonya Katyal.

Various contributions of less than $100 total $4,198.

Nonmonetary contributions include $900 in services from Rik Keller Photography, as well as online database service ($19) and precinct maps ($12) from Anupam Chander.

Barbara Archer’s campaign reported $5,220 in cash contributions and $95 in nonmonetary contributions.

Her contributors include Lindsay Weston, $1,000; Irwin and Leigh Segel, Claire Black Slotton, $500; Pam Pacelli, Helen Hadani, $300; Judith Schreider, and Kathy Archer of Napa, $250; Melissa and Tobin White, $200; Karen Combs, $150; and Diana Vizzard of Sacramento, Thomas Adams, Judy Frederickson, Jeff Roy, Bruce and Megan Hupe, Delaine Eastin, Hiram Jackson, Susan Lovenburg and Lucas Freirichs, $100.

Archer also received various contributions under $100 plus a $95 nonmonetary contribution of photography from William Goidell.

Robert Poppenga’s campaign received $2,950 in contributions, including a $1,750 donation from the candidate; $500 from Amy Kapatkin; $300 from Fred and Selma Kapatkin of Woodland; $100 each from Chien He, Bruce Wolk and Eric Hays; as well as two contributions under $100.

Chuck Rairdan’s campaign received a $200 contribution from the candidate, and a nonmonetary contribution ($240) of technical support services from Eric Hays.

Alan Fernandes’ campaign received $100 contributions from David Sommers and Heidy Kellison.

Some candidates began fundraising months ago; others are just getting started. Fernandes has shown himself to be a potent fundraiser in the past; he raised more than $19,000 during his 2012 school board campaign.

The candidacy filing period for the Davis school board continues through Aug. 8, and will likely be extended through Aug. 13, since incumbents Sheila Allen and Gina Daleiden have indicated they do not intend to seek another term. Trustee Tim Taylor has not publicly stated his intentions.

— Reach Jeff Hudson at [email protected] or 530-747-8055.

Jeff Hudson

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.