Local News

Window decorating contest lights up downtown Davis

By From page A4 | November 24, 2013

The wonder of the holiday season will come alive in the windows of downtown Davis businesses beginning Friday, Nov. 29. A total of 34 businesses will be competing for top honors of having the best holiday window decorations in the second annual contest sponsored by Davis Downtown.

A panel of judges will stroll downtown streets, enjoying the festive window displays and determining which business has best captured the holiday spirit. Judging will take place between Nov. 29 and Dec. 12, with window decorations to be on display through Christmas Day.

A People’s Choice Award also will be presented to the business that best captures the community’s heart. Local residents are invited to tour downtown and visit the competitors, then cast their votes online at www.surveymonkey.com/s/DavisDowntownPeoplesChoiceAward.

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will be open from Nov. 29 through Dec. 14. Winners of the contest will be announced during the week of Dec. 16.

“The second annual Davis Downtown Window Decorating Contest is shaping up to be a fun event,” said Stewart Savage, executive director of Davis Downtown. “With 34 businesses participating this year, it is really going to add a huge splash of light and color to the downtown. Visitors to downtown Davis will be in for a treat as they shop for that perfect holiday gift and as they celebrate with friends and family at our wonderful restaurants.”

Participating businesses in the 2013 contest are:

* Ken’s Bike Ski Board, 650 G St., 530-758-3223, bikeskiboard.com
* Davis Ace Hardware, 240 G St. and 830 Fourth St., 530-758-8000, davisace.com
* Bubble Belly, 340 G St., 530-231-5538, shopbubblebelly.com
* Yolo County SPCA Thrift Store, 920 Third St., Suite F, 530-758-0544, yolocountyspca.org
* Tres Hermanas, 805 Second St., 530-756-8737, treshermanasdavis.com
* Jeeba Jewelry Studio, 712 Third St., 530-758-1397, jeeba.com
* Himalaya Gifts, 713 Second St., 530-757-2183
* Freewheeler Bicycle, 703 Second St., 530-758-5460, freewheelerbikes.com
* Optical Phases, 718 Second St., 530-758-7571, opticalphases.com
* Mother and Baby Source, 714 Second St., 530-756-6667, motherandbabysource.com
* Mathnasium of Davis, 618 Fourth St., 530-756-0123, mathnasium.com/davis
* The Paint Chip, 217 F St., 530-753-5093, thepaint-chip.com
* nestware, 207 F St., Suite B, 530-757-6400, nestwarestyle.com
* Paulina’s, 207 F St., Suite A, 530-400-6764, facebook.com/PaulinasBoutique
* Armadillo Music, 205 F St., 530-758-8058, armadillomusic.com
* Outdoor Davis, 623 Second St., 530-757-2997, facebook.com/OutdoorDavis
* Avid Reader/AvidReader Active, 605 Second St. and 617 Second St., 530-758-4040, avidreaderbooks.com
* Fleet Feet Sports, 615 Second St., 530-758-6453, fleetfeetdavis.com
* Riki, 202 E St., 530-756-8048, rikidesign.com
* The Wardrobe, 206 E St., 530-756-1128, thewardrobe.com
* Spa Central, 213 F St., 530-758-7400, spacentraldavis.com
* Teach Your Children, 232 E St., 530-753-2300, teachyourchildren.net
* Icekrimski Cafe, 618 Second St., 530-758-5264, icekrimskicafe.com
* Mishka’s Cafe, 610 Second St., 530-759-0811, mishkascafe.com
* Newsbeat, 514 Third St., 530-756-6247, thenewsbeat.com
* Cultivé Frozen Yogurt, 231 E St., Suite 1, 530-758-5555, cultiveyogurt.com
* Salon Blonde, 227 E St., Suite 10, 530-759-8633
* De Luna Jewelers, 521 Second St., 530-753-3351, delunajewelers.net
* Logos Books, 513 Second St., 530-400-1083, logosbooks.wordpress.com
* Art-Is-Davis, 222 D St., 530-756-3098, art-is-davis.com
* Haute Again Consignment, 129 E St, Suite B-1, 530-341-2172, hauteagain.com
* Whole Foods Market Davis, 500 First St., 530-750-2266, wholefoodsmarket.com/stores/davis
* Helmus + Baker Optometry, 353 Second St., 530-758-2122, helmusoptometry.com
* USE Credit Union, 200 B St , Suite 1, 530-757-9472, usecu.org

A map and business list is also available on the Davis Downtown website at http://davisdowntown.com/2013-light-up-the-holidays

For more information, contact Savage at [email protected] or 530-392-8324.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.