Thursday, November 27, 2014
YOLO COUNTY NEWS
99 CENTS

Blue Devil athletes eye August tryout dates

DHS girls volleyball coach Julie Crawford takes some perspective Blue Devils through conditioning drills on Wednesday morning at Playfields Park. Athletes, from left, are Carolyn Brady, Irene Ruthazihana, Sarah Allen-Sutter and Hazel Jackson. Sue Cockrell/Enterprise photo

By
From page B1 | July 25, 2013 |

With less than a month to go before Davis High fall sports will begin tryouts for the 2013 season, some Blue Devil athletes are already getting their bodies into shape.

DHS girls volleyball coach Julie Crawford — who was recently rehired with a July 16 school board vote, reversing an adminstrative decision to let her go a few weeks earlier — is especially happy to be back working with perspective Devil athletes.

The volleyball hopefuls are conditioning Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays through Aug. 2 from 9 to 10:15 a.m. at the Playfields Park sand court.

Tryouts for DHS girls volleyball begin Aug. 12.

Other Blue Devil athletes are also getting ready for the fall season, some with coaches and others on their own.

The Davis football team, with coach Marc Hicks at the helm after having his VSA approved on Wednesday, begins conditioning the first full week of August, with two-a-day practices beginning Aug. 12.

Devil field hockey, girls golf and boys soccer squads also start tryouts Aug. 12, while DHS girls tennis workouts begin Aug. 14.

Practice for boys and girls water polo and cross country opens on Aug. 19.

For more information contact the coach for each sport: cross country (Bill Gregg at williamjgregg@aol.com), field hockey (Sandie Marotti-Huckins at sandie@marottiperformancegroup.com), football (Hicks at mhicks@djusd.net), girls golf (Rhonda Mohr at mohr@davisgolfacademy.com), boys soccer (Alex Park aapark@ucdavis.edu), girls tennis (Sally Hosley at sallyhosley@hotmail.com), volleyball (Crawford at jcrawford@djusd.net) boys water polo (Tracy Stapleton at tstapleton@djusd.net) and girls water polo (Doug Wright at dwright@djusd.net).

Note: Baseline concussion screening is mandatory. Testing is valid for two school years, so athletes who completed baseline training in 2012-13 do not need to retest until 2014-15, according to Davis High Athletic Director Dennis Foster. Consent forms for concussion baseline testing and forms for physicals can be found at www.davisseniorhigh.net.

Comments

comments

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • .

    News

    .

    Forum

    .

    Sports

    .

    Features

    .

    Arts

    .

    Business

    .

    Obituaries

    .

    Comics