DHS’ Trask named DVC baseball player of the year

By From page B8 | May 12, 2013

There are some terrific ballplayers in the Delta Valley Conference and two — Matt Trask of Davis and Elk Grove’s Ryan Tellez — stood tall during this spring.

Now comes word, after some debate at last week’s league coaches’ meeting, that Blue Devil Trask has been named DVC Player of the Year.

The junior hurler, whose bat caused great grief for Thundering Herd fans (two walk-off hits cementing the conference crown for the locals), hit .455, drove in 19 runs and scored 12 more, while going 6-2 on the mound with a 1.74 earned run average.

“They both had great years,” DHS coach Dan Ariola told The Enterprise. “But whenever you win, it gives you a little edge.”

Davis finished 21-6 (14-1 in the DVC)and plays a Sac-Joaquin Section first-round playoff game on Thursday while Elk Grove (22-5, 13-2), which finished in second, has to battle through a play-in game on Monday.

The Devils and Herd each had five other players named to the DVC first team — DHS seniors Bobby Young, Hayden Duer and Joe Murray joined junior John Ariola.

Young went 5-3 (2.38 ERA) on the mound while playing first and third base. Catcher Duer was strong on defense and hit .333 during the regular season. Second baseman Murray, the team’s catalyst according to the coach, scored 28 runs, drove in 20 and hit at a .423 clip.

Freshman Ryan Kreidler, outfielder Chris Daunt, infielder Brett Bloomfield and reliever Adam Inouye were accorded second-team honors.

In addition to first baseman Tellez (.458, six HRs, 33 RBIs), catcher Dom Nunez (.397), hurler David Smith (7-2, 1.33), junior outfielder Derek Hill (.387) and infielder Nick Madrigal (.400, 32 runs scored) were Elk Grove’s first-teamers.

Grant pitcher Branden Nunn, Monterey Trail shortstop Jordan Vartanian, Laguna Creek outfielder/pitcher Zach Wassall and Franklin’s Hank LoForte (infield), Cameron Keup (pitcher) and Tyler Blake (pitcher/first base) rounded out the All-DVC squad.

Murray, Young and DHS closer Jake Miille also were honored with selections to the Optimist All-Star Game set for June 8 at McAuliffe Field (University Avenue) north of Sacramento State.

Bruce Gallaudet

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.