Former Davis Olympian Wilson to be honored by Sac-Joaquin Section

By From page B1 | August 03, 2014

He’s twice been voted the world’s top goalkeeper.

He helped Davis High win two section water polo titles before leading UC Santa Barbara to the NCAA championship.

He was a first-team All-American before competing in three Olympic Games and winning two silver medals.

Know as Willy by his teammates, 1975 DHS graduate Craig Wilson has earned another Hall of Fame plaque for his trophy case.

Sac-Joaquin Section officials just announced that Wilson would enter the prep shrine with 32 inductees at ceremonies Sunday, Aug. 24, at Sleep Train Arena.

This marks the hall’s third class (the first coming in 2010) and already includes fellow Blue Devil Denise Curry.

Wilson was inducted in the second group of Davis High School Hall of Famers. At that time, he told The Enterprise about the first time he saw a water polo game:

“It was 1970 when I was in sixth grade. My initial observation was, ‘Man, you couldn’t pay me to be a goalie in this game.’ ”

Years later — after all those titles and accolades — Wilson wrote what experts believe to be the definitive book on netminding: “The Guide to Water Polo Keeping.”

Also being honored is longtime Woodland educator Ray Gutierrez.

Born and raised in Woodland, Gutierrez was a teacher, counselor, administrator and coach for 54 years.

Working most of his career in Woodland schools, for 20 years Gutierrez ran the section basketball tournament at what was called Arco Arena. He’s been the Tri-County Conference commissioner since 2006.

Fourteen other former regional athletes, seven administrators or benefactors, six coaches and one former media member will be enshrined.

A look at the complete list:

Athletes: Wilson (Davis High water polo); Scott Brooks (East Union basketball); Doug Burke (Beyer water polo); Eileen Claugus (Rio Americano, cross country); Adam Cuestas (Merced wrestling); Dan Cuestas (Merced wrestling); Randy Fasani (Del Oro football); Bob Forsch (Johnson basketball and football); Eric Mastalir (Jesuit track); Mark Mastalir (Jesuit track); Sheila Hudson (Rio Linda track); Carl McCullough (Sacramento track); David Porath (Atwater field); Michael Stember (Jesuit cross country and track); Wilbur Thompson (Modesto field); Amy Windmiller (Mira Loma softball).

Officials: Bob Nicholson (basketball); Ray Willett (three sports).

Media: Mark McDermott (Sacramento Bee).

Coaches: Bob Marman (Linden multiple sports); Richard Fox (Ponderosa wrestling); Rick Francis (Sonora basketball); Bob Loureiro (Escalon baseball); Makr Loureiro (Escalon football); Alynn Wright (St. Francis volleyball).

Administrators/benefactors: Norm Antinetti (Oakdale); Chuck Edmonds (Ceres); Don Genasci (Roseville and Oakmont); Gutierrez (Woodland); Al Hooker (San Juan Unified School District); Jinee Sargent (Bella Vista); Nancy Veilleux (Roseville).

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.