Five DHS grads among the 56 Aggies honored for academics

By From page B1 | July 03, 2014


UCD runner Grayson Hough (15) — a former Blue Devil — was one of 56 Aggies to earn Big West All-Academic recognition this week. Wayne Tilcock/Enterprise file photo

A total of 56 UC Davis Aggies, from 10 different winter and spring sports, were recognized by the Big West Conference this week for their ability to juggle high-level academics and the intense demands of being a standout college athlete.

And five Davis High graduates — runners Trevor Halsted and Grayson Hough and water polo players Elise Fullerton, Keelia Houston and Hailey Wright — were among those who earned Big West All-Academic honors.

To be eligible for award, student-athletes must hold a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, have completed one full year at the member institution prior to the year for which the award is bestowed, and compete in at least 50 percent of their team’s contests for that season.

Among the winter sports, UCD women’s basketball featured four recipients, including third-time honoree Idit Oryon. Junior Brianna Salvatore landed her second award after missing 2012-13 accolades due to injury, while sophomore Molly Greubel and junior Kelsey Harris each picked up league academic honors in their first years of eligibility.

From the diamond sports, Aggie softball had a seven-player contingent made up of seniors Kimberly Pena, Caitlin Voss and Chandler Wagner, and sophomores Christa Castello, Christina Guidry, Jasmine Lee and Alicia Paine. Six UCD baseball players made the honor roll, including third-time recipient Harry Stanwyck and second-year winner John Williams. They were joined by seniors Tino Lipson and Robert Parucha, and juniors Raul Jacobson and Izaak Silva.

From the links, senior Joshua Granger and junior Mike Brockington represented the Aggie men’s golf team while women’s golf saw the trio of senior Jessica Chulya, junior Blair Lewis and sophomore Andrea Wong get recognition. Granger and Chulya are both two-time honorees.

Five UCD hardcourt stars garnered All-Academic nods. Among the women, senior Megan Heneghan — the 2013-14 Big West Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the school’s W.P. Lindley Award winner for top scholar-athlete — picked up her maximum third award, while senior Melissa Kobayakawa claimed her second league academic honor. First-time winners were junior Layla Sanders and sophomore Tiffany Pham.

The Aggie women’s tennis team was recently honored with its seventh consecutive NCAA Public Recognition Award for outstanding Academic Progress Rate, and scored the Marya Welch Award for the athletic program’s top women’s team GPA.

Sophomore Brian Bacharach was the lone Big West All-Academic honoree from the men’s tennis squad.

A total of 21 student-athletes — including senior Hough and junior Halsted — made the conference honor roll from the two UCD track and field teams. On the men’s side, junior Trevor Ehlenbach was a repeat winner while first-time honorees included sophomores Cody Nguyen, Nicholas Ratto and Abhineet Ram.

Former Blue Devil Halsted also was a Big West Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2012 and is a 2014 Capital One Academic All-American for both track and cross country.

A whopping 14 honorees came from the Aggie women’s track and field team with seniors Alycia Cridebring and Shannon Harcus each getting their sixth total Big West All-Academic awards between the fall and spring sports. UCD track and field seniors Kellie Grigg and Kira Rienecker also made the conference’s honor roll for the third straight season, while junior Katie Barber and senior Shanie Landen were repeat winners.

Also earning recognition from the women’s track and field team were sophomores Siobhan Anderson, Erika Barr, Johanna Borst, Kelsey Drain, Christine Hoffman and Catherine Li, and juniors Cekarri Nixon and Veronica Smart.

In addition to Fullerton — who earned her second straight Big West academic award — Houston and Wright, six other Aggie water polo standouts were honored. Seniors Hannah Curran and Erin Schlueter each scored their third such honor, junior Jillian Wilding picked up her second, and first-time winners were junior Allyson Hansen and sophomore Bryn Lutz.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.