Lambdin will join UCD teammate Marshall at NCAA track and field finals

By From page B1 | June 01, 2014

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — UC Davis’ Raquel Lambdin, already a Big West champion in the 1,500-meter run, can add the NCAA track and field finals to her résumé after she qualified in the event on Saturday in the West Prelim Meet at the University of Arkansas.

Lambdin, a junior from Camarillo, used a strong finish to place fifth in her national semifinal heat and earn an automatic berth to the NCAA finals, set for next month in Oregon. She crossed in a career-best time of 4 minutes, 20.89 seconds, moving her from No. 6 to No. 2 on the all-time Aggie list.

UCD, which sent a program-best 21 men and women to the regional meet, was active in seven events on Saturday. The Aggie men’s 4×100 relay team — made up of Sava Boyadjiev, Marcus Johnson, Kaio Sena and Basil Okoroike — finished 21st in 41.11 seconds while Okoroike also took 41st in the triple jump (47-02.25).

The UCD women also ran the 4×100 — with Ashley Marshall, Cekarri Nixon, Leslie Reed and Holly Miller participating — but the squad’s 45.71 was later disqualified. Marshall, who will join Lambdin in Eugene, Oregon, after advancing in the 100 on Friday, was trying to add a 200 berth, but finished 20th in Saturday’s semifinal (23.98).

On Friday, Marshall qualified in the 100 with the sixth-fastest time overall (11:47).

Also Saturday, Aggie senior Alycia Cridebring was 10th in a blazing 5,000 heat, which had the event’s top five times and the next two at-large qualifiers. Cridebring was 14th overall in 16:24.65.

UCD’s Katie Barber tied for 39th in the high jump, clearing 5-5.75.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.