Six Aggies enter shrine; 3 student-athletes honored

By From page B2 | June 10, 2014

With a turnout pushing 300, six former sport standouts and a storied coach were inducted into the Cal Aggie Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday at UC Davis’ Freeborn Hall.

Also presented were the Aggie Legacy Award and top athletic honors to three current students.

Members of the latest Hall of Fame class are Anthony Schifano, baseball; Tanisha Silas, track and field; Christi (Raycraft) Warner, water polo; John Faletoese, football; Jessica (Campbell) Pardoe, women’s basketball; and Sue Williams, a longtime coach.

Earning the Legacy Award was Dante Dettamanti, a former head water polo coach and current assistant.

Four-time All-Big West Conference tennis player Megan Heneghan received the W.P. Lindley Award as the athletic department’s overall outstanding student-athlete.

Sprinter Ashley Marshall, who qualified for the NCAA nationals in the 100 meters, was presented the Heitman Award as the top female athlete, and golfer Matt Hansen received the Colby “Babe” Slater Award as the top male athlete.

Here’s a look at the Hall of Fame inductees:

* Williams: A pre-Title IX women’s sports pioneer, Williams has unprecedented success with men’s and women’s cross country in a 29-year UCD coaching career.

She mentored 75 All-American athletes and will join eight former students in the Cal Aggie shrine.

* Faletoese: From 2005 to 2008, the former Jesuit High standout patrolled the defensive line for coach Bob Biggs’ Ags.

An Associated Press and SportsNet All-American in 2008, Faletoese was the Great Western Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 2008 and was named to the GWC All-Time team.

He blocked a field goal attempt as UC Davis upset Stanford, 20-17, in 2005.

* Raycraft Warner: A former all-CIF product at Davis High, she kept her talents close to home in a brilliant career in the pool for coach Jamey Wright.

The 2008 graduate is fourth among Aggie female goal-scorers and ranks among the all-time leaders in five other categories.

“She was tenacious, relentless … she’d just come at you,” Wright said during the Saturday presentation of Raycraft Warner’s career highlights. “Make a mistake … she was on it like a cat.”

* Campbell Pardoe: Like Marshall, a Heitman Award winner, Campbell Pardoe is No. 3 in Aggie scoring ranks, ninth in rebounds and 10th in assists and blocks.

“She would score, she could defend and rebound,” former Aggie women’s basketball coach Sandy Simpson said in his tribute to the 2008 grad.

Her favorite piece of wisdom? It comes from UCLA legend John Wooden: “Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.”

* Silas: She worked relay magic with her teammates in the 4×400. Leading off, Silas was part of a squad that ran 3:40.57 and took second in the nation — a record that stood for 13 years.

She also capably ran the 200 and 400 and was selected as the 2002 NCAA Woman of the Year. (Another Aggie, Jamila Demby, earned the honor in 1999.)

* Schifano: After 10 years of professional baseball, Schifano returned to Davis as a coach on Matt Vaughn’s staff.

Schifano is in the UCD record books for career hits (214), games played (194) and at-bats (678). He was a three-time All-Northern California Athletic Conference pick and helped Phil Swimley’s 1995 team advance to the NCAA D-II World Series.

He was an undrafted free agent with Miami and, as a high school coach, won the Central Coast section title in 2006.

* Dettamanti: A 1965 graduate of UCD, Dettamanti earned eight national water polo championships as Stanford coach (1977-2001). He is a six-time USA Coach of the Year who turned out 12 Olympians along the way.

Dettamanti is a volunteer assistant with Daniel Leyson’s Aggies.

An all-conference performer in both water polo and swimming at UCD, Dettamanti is a member of the U.S. and Stanford halls of fame.

Enterprise staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this newspaper and receive notifications of new articles by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.